AT THE SOURCE OF THE EXCEPTIONAL, A PLACE OF EXCEPTION
Two bridges across Les Usses river flowing 150 metres below, the elegant Charles Albert suspension bridge, opened in 1839, and the modern Caquo bridge with its unique concrete arch, completed in 1928.
The ruins of la Caille Baths discretely lie at the bottom of the gorges. In the Roman days, then from 1850 to 1935, the “Fontaine de Cherpié” was renowned for the sulphur it contained. The high society from Geneva and Paris was attracted by a very posh SPA and casino. They came both for cure and entertainment.
© l'espace des bains - All rights reserved. Legal notice